Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
eyes and arrows
3,682 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

i have never had a guided hunt or anything but will soon be going on a 2 day guided hunt for turkeys that i WON at an archery tournament. Me and my dad are both going for two days, they are putting us up in a giant camper and giving us dinner and stuff. We will both get to hunt turkeys, 1 guide per hunter if we want. It is on private land through a reputable guide. It looked like it was about a $400/person trip when purchased normally on their website.

My question is this, i know i will need to tip them still, but how much do i give?? i mean, i payed zero dollars for the hunt other than my tag, so i am not sure how much to tip. I dont know how much to tip even if i did pay for it, since this is my first time.

Any help would be nice.

thanks guys

Joe

·
Registered
1,425 Posts
I would think $100 would be a minimum, and $150 if you kill a nice gobbler...

·
Registered
2,222 Posts
usually on good hunts if you enjoy yourself its 10-15%
so depends on the experience remember you didn t pay anything so if it is a good experience treat them good
win win

·
Registered
342 Posts
I would say if they treat you guys right and provide ample opportunity to get a gobbler then $100, $150 each would be right. I guess it is up to you on if you feel satisfied. If they are trying as hard as they can to get you a bird and make sure you are having a good time then make it worth their while!

Good luck on your hunt!

·
Registered
255 Posts