Archery Talk Forum banner

Need some advice on food plot please...

1128 15
I am new to the food plot thing, this is my first time even trying. I havn't done the soil test yet but I was wondering is it to late to even start one? The area I have picked is great (I Think) it is between a huge thicket and a soy bean field. I have seen the deer movement here for a long time and have studies the wind currents and direction, I got them perfect almost. Anyway I cleared the area with a rake, removed anything in the way. Mostly clear before i started. I notices that the top of the soil even about a inch down that is was dry as all get out. The area is 35 yards long by 15 yards wide and it is on a slight decline.This area gets about 2-3 hours of partial sunlight. I wanted to try the biologic HOT SPOT but really I have no idea what to do. Need help please.
Thanks for your ideas

JOHN
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
872 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thanks

Thanks for your pm Alpha Doe

· Registered
2,454 Posts
Since you didn't get lime down cause you will need it, I would get some Gain for a quick fix, plant some brassicas like essex rape and turnips( they grow quick) and, fertilize with 13-13-13. It will be a hot spot by mid to late november.

· Registered
3,383 Posts
I agree,you need atleast 4 hours of sun light.It's your cash and your plot.If you want to try anyway,I would rake in some line,broadcast some light fertilizer 13 13 13 or in that area and broadcast your seed.I would wait to apply my seed untill they are forecasting rain.The birds,turkeys and other critters may get your seed if it sets too long.Normally in Ohio close to labor day is a good fall plot time.

· Registered
872 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks