Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I'm a college student who hunts a lot of public land and hikes a lot to get to my spots. I have a climber that i had before i went to school because i thought it was the best option. But it's too heavy with all my other gear. I have heard of the lone wolf stands and that they are extremely light but is it harder to set up climbing sticks and the stand rather then a climber? is it worth to sell my climber? Just looking for the best advice from anyone.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,941 Posts
I prefer my stand and sticks because I have more tree options and usually get better cover. I wouldn't say they are harder to set up just take more time. Take a look at XOP..,, almost the same as lone wolf but much cheaper.

·
Registered
683 Posts
Had both the Lone Wolf hand climber and sit n' climb. Overrated and overpriced in my opinion, there are much more comfortable (if that's what you're looking for), much lighter (if that's what you're looking for) and just as compact stands out there for less $$$. The cast platform is nice in that it doesn't ding like a hollow tube would, but it adds more weight. If sound is a concern with the hollow tubes of other stands then some camo tape and foam does wonders for very little money and weight added. Looking at some of the newer designs from other companies, X-stand Treestands really stands out, if you forgive the pun. 12lb climber for almost $50 less than the LW sit n climb.