Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In two days time, I lost both pieces of property I was going to hunt this year. What's the most upsetting part, is that's its 11 days till opening day. My situation is proof that its all about money. So, to bowhunt this year, I have to hunt public land. I worked hard this year trying to get access to private property. The problem with the public land, is that I have no clue where the the deer bed or where they travel at. The public places to hunt here in Wisconsin are so heavily hunted. The deer are running scared from the day their born. Bucks normally don't live past 2 seasons. The older bucks are so far into the thickets, that you couldn't fling an arrow if you wanted to. The thing that really blows, is that I'm a disabled veteran who can't walk long distances. Thanks for letting me vent guys. Have a successful season this year and make sure you use a safety harness when using a tree stand.

·
Registered
7,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Before long, it will only be a rich man's sport.

·
Registered
47,473 Posts
It's been a rich man's sport in other countries for 1000+ years. Sad, isn't it?

I hunt a couple patches of private land here. And a lot of public. After hitting the public land enough you'll learn their habits. I find it easier and more effective to still hunt those areas so I'm not pinned down in an unproductive area. And any whitetail taken while still hunting is a freakin' challenge and worthy of being called a trophy. As hunters, we have to be able to adapt and overcome. That's what seperates good hunters from bad hunters.

·
Team 4 Play
17,306 Posts