Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
2nd Amend. Don't lose it
21,793 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Folks,

I am new to traditional and primitive archery. I used to shoot recurves
when I was in Boy scouts, and wanted to get back into it.

I jaunted about and ended up at my local archery shop (Walmart). These guys were smart and good!... They fitted me with a 32 inch bow at 70#. It was hard for me to pull back at first, but after a while, I got used to it. I can now shoot it through two NFAA rounds before I feel rubbery in the arms.

I wanted a bow I can shoot deer with. I have hunted now for 5 years very
successfully. I have shot over 50 deer in the last 5 years, all at a distance
of 5 yards or less. But I want something more challenging, like Traditional
Archery.

I decided on Traditional Archery, because you can me "One with the bow".
You have no cams, rests, or sights. You can shoot off your knuckle, use
wooden arrows, and throw yourself back in the mid-evil way of life. (Oh the
thought of hunting with such primitive stuff).

So here I am, I went to Cabellas and Bass pro for the expert advice. They
set me up in this range that was 20 feet, and handed me traditional bow after traditional bow. I told them I wanted to HUNT, and need a bow that was heavy enough to kill a deer. They had many such bows, and were nice enough to allow me to shoot them at their 20 foot range.

I drew back and presto! I actually came very close to what I was hitting!
Amazing! I threw some more arrows down there, and PRESTO! I am actually
grouping at 20 feet! I ask how many pounds the bow is, and the answer is 55#, enough to take out a deer.

I turn around and say:

"How does my form look?" (while pulling back the bow and hunching up my
shoulders).

"Looks good!" comes the answer! "You sure are grouping nice down there!"

I think to myself... I can actually put back 55# and shoot this traditional bow!... Well, I should be able to, I shoot a 70# compound bow! There is no