Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just ordered my new bow, a pink parker sidekick xp. it will be here monday or tuesday. I have never shot before, this will be my first time. the bow guy told me i am left eye dominant so i got a left handed bow. i figure since i never have i will be able to learn. got any suggestions?

thanks,
heather

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
Welcome to AT Heather! Also welcome to an addiction called archery! The best piece of advice that I can give to a brand new archer is to get with somebody who understands proper form and draw length and how to anchor and all of those things associated with shooting a bow. Learn how to do it right from the start so you don't develop bad habits to break later. :) That is the one thing that helped me the most. If you lived in South GA, I'd help you. :) Good luck and enjoy your bow. I am a certified coach and will gladly help you in any way possible.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Canam is right when she says "Welcome to an addiction called archery". I was the newbie a few months ago and I have grown to love archery and bowhunting so much. Being on AT has been a lifesaver. Everyone is very helpful and always willing to lend a hand even from miles away:)

·
Registered
584 Posts
Welcome ~ and definitely do what canam says ~ start off with good habits so you don't have to change them later, makes it more difficult, trust me:)

You will love archery and will be addicted in no time. Have fun here on AT and all of the ladies on this forum are awesome, and very helpful, and willing to listen if you need to vent or need a shoulder.

Good luck, and most of all HAVE FUN.

·
Registered
76 Posts
from another lefty