Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to bow hunting. When I bought my new bow in December, it came with free lessons. The instructor is teaching me back tension shooting. I'm not sure if this is the way I should be learning. I've heard back tension is more for target shooting, not hunting. Any thoughts out there?

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
I originally thought so too, but I later learned that it is a style of shooting. I started out with just punching the trigger on a wrist release. Later, (read 10 years later) I learned how to shoot with back tension. Any release can be shot with back tension. It really is the best way to learn. If I had started out learning back tension, my shooting would have progressed much faster.

Once I learned how to shoot with back tension, my groupings went from 4-5 inches at 30 yards to <4 inches at 60 yards. This is all done with a wrist release.

My opinion - Learn to shoot back tension and you will shoot better than many, sooner. Your coach sounds like he knows what he is doing.

·
<---Ride the Lightning
2,031 Posts
Listen to your coach.
Learning to do it correctly from the start will keep you from having problems down the road.

·
Registered
1,678 Posts
What he is teaching you is the proper way a release should be shot, no matter what style. Listen to him and learn and you will probably not be facing the dreaded target panic from punching the release after a few years.

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
You are being taught the correct way from the start. Many archers do not get the privilege to learn back tension from the start. Listen to your coach bud.

·
Registered
47,473 Posts
Be sure to thank him the next time you see him. :nod: I wish I had a coach teach me back tension when I started compound shooting, it would have saved me a lot of worry, headaches and depression.