Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Need a little advice please. I started bowhunting 4 years ago. With myself being a 1st generation bowhunter I have no mentor to get advice from. So everything I have learned has been self taught. For the last 4 years i have been shooting a PSE Team fitzgerald bow. Nothing special but a great 1st bow. Over the last 4 years i have changed my setup 3 times. From full length aluminum arrows to an 4" overdraw to increase arrow speed to now 30" Beman 400's. I shoot at least 30 arrows a night at least 4 times a week and have managed to get down to a 4" group at 30 yards. 20 yards or less and i consistently knock my arrows together in the target. I have managed to harvest 4 bucks and currently feel comfortable with my setup, but yet its not quite exactly the way i want it.

I am currently shooting staight 4" vanes. All my research indicates helical is the way to go. For maxium arrow stability. I do have the occasional "rest interfering with vanes now". <--did the baby powder test.

My problem is i want to be perfect. I will not be happy until i am splitting arrow #1 with arrow #2 at 30 yards. Although this may never happen i will keep shooting until it does...:) and then i probaly wont be happy until it happens at 40 yards etc..

Now that you have a little background here is my delima.