Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Bowtech Realm w/ Gas strings. Fuse Ultra-Rest, AXT RAK4000, 365 bars, RIP TKOs w/ 100g Rage Hypo N/C
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm just about finished building my first bowstring jig and have some ?s about string material. I know I'm gonna want to practice building a set or two before even attempting anything that would even consider installing on a bow. My question is what is a good quality yet economical string and serving material to practice with but that I could still put on a compound bow if I felt comfortable with the end product. And possibly any pointers on serving size.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
54 Posts

I'm pretty new to string making. BCY 452x for me. If you want to go cheap for starters, just get 1 spool and do single color strings. There's enough on 1 spool for several strings. I'm using BCY halo .014 serving but it's a bit spendy. In that thread I linked, there's many posts on using fishing line for serving. For center serving I'm using .021" BCY powergrip on 24 strand strings.

·
Registered
569 Posts
I’m new to string building too. I’ve built 2 sets of strings, one for each of my bows. I’m using BCY X99 and Halo .014.
I followed that above post and it was very easy. I practice making a test piece about 18” not to waste string material.

·
Registered
569 Posts
I’m new to string building too. I’ve built 2 sets of strings, one for each of my bows. I’m using BCY X99 and Halo .014.
I followed that above post and it was very easy. I made a test piece about 18” long so not to waste string material. Also used that to make sure the nocks will fit on the serving correctly.

·
Registered
569 Posts
Read this whole thread. Lots of very good information.
My jig is basically the same principal but I’m using an air cylinder instead of the spring and welded the bracket to hold the turning bolt.
The first 2 pic are old pics.