Archery Talk Forum banner

New taxidermy info needed.

3708 Views 10 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  TOPBOWARCHERY
Hello everyone. Im just getting into this art. I have started classes and I am in the process of mounting a nice buck right now.But I have a few questions for the pro Taxidermy guys. I was in construction and over years you learn what tools work better for certain jobs so Im sure its the same for Taxidermy work. I was looking at all the tools that a guy needs to make life easier. So tell me what is the tumblers for . I know this it can tan hides but what about birds. I have seen different mixes that you put into the tumbler but can any of you tell me the whole process of this . Thanks and which tumbler would you recommend and would you recommend these hide tanning machines also. I have talked to several Taxi guys and some tell me they will send there hides off to get tanned some times. Sorry for so many questions . .
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
119 Posts
In shop tumblers are used to dry/clean hides, not tan them. The material inside removes the oils and residue left from tanning the hide and drys/fluffs the hair/feathers. A tumbler is not necessary if you are mounting game heads but would probably be a help if you are doing lots of birds. Larger tumblers such as the fur drums used by tanneries are used to break and soften the hides after tan. Ive got the yellow 30gal tumbler made by Van ***** {bought used for a good price}. I use a commercial tanner so it just takes up space as I hardly ever use it.

· Vendor
85,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Taxi