Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to 3-D archery. I’ve shot a couple tournaments. I’m looking to upgrade to a 3-D set up from my hunting bow. Any input on bows, sights, scopes, rests etc. would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
3,667 Posts
I’m new to 3-D archery. I’ve shot a couple tournaments. I’m looking to upgrade to a 3-D set up from my hunting bow. Any input on bows, sights, scopes, rests etc. would be greatly appreciated
It all depends on what class you're planning to shoot but here are some "typical" guidlines:
Bow
- Most people who compete at any level want a bow that's longer ATA than their hunting bow. Figure 34-36" ATA to be the most common. This affords you a better string angle, brings your peep a little closer to your eye and increases sight radius.
- Most people who shoot unknown distance also want something thats fast. This will allow you a larger margin of error when judging distance and still keep the arrow in the 10 ring. It's also important to note that some organizations have imposed speed limits for some or all the classes.
- As far as the brand of bow you should look for... that's up to you. All bow companies make bows that will suit you just fine. I've put up some really great scores with PSE, Mathews, Elite and now Athens.

Arrows
- I believe the most popular size arrows are 23/64" (the common term is simply "23s"). There are larger size arrows but some organizations set the max to "23s". The larger the arrow the better chance you will catch the line of the next higher scoring ring. But larger arrows usually mean larger vanes which can catch the wind and therefore blown further off course. I shoot 23s as I believe they are better at cutting the wind than "27s" but fat enough to catch some lines.
- If you are located out west shooting 3D in the desert winds, I'd probably recommend standard diameter arrows. I shot my 23s in Yuma a few months ago and the wind killed me!!!!