Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in my early forties and have never been hunting. I just purchased a Mission Riot and have been practicing. My son who is nine is excited and can't wait to start hunting. I would love to teach him, but being a novice myself, I am trying to figure out how to get started. I have taken my hunter's safety course and will purchase my license. I am just interested in advice on how to get started. I live in Northwestern OH. Should I join a club and hope some one will show me the ropes? Or do I just take my chances on some public land and just see how it goes? Does the state offer hunts for people new to the sport? Any suggestions would be helpful.

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
I would hit up your local pro shop. Shoot the range there with the other archers there. They will be able to help you first hand. That being said DO NOT HESITATE TO ASK ANY QUESTIONS ON THIS FORUM! There are a lot of guys out here that can help you out and are great guys. If you question anything the guys at the shop tell you, post it up here and guys on here will be able to tell you if it crap or good advise.

Oh almost forgot, welcome to the the site.

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
My advice;

Don't buy a bunch of stuff. You'll never get what you need if you don't know what you need. Clothes that don't make noise, a small knife for skinning, a camera, bow and arrow and a sense of humor is all you really need.
Shoot the first deer you see. If it's your first, you need to get that under your belt ASAP. It cannot be explained what happens to you after you shoot your first. You just have to do it. It's like sex.
Master your bow. Before you think about shooting a deer, be sure you can hit it where you want. You owe the critter that much. I'm not talking about hitting bottle caps at 70yds, I'm talking baseballs at 30yds.