Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently found a nice old Darton recurve bow at a rummage sale and have been getting myself set up to start practicing.

I've read/watched a lot of material so far on technology and technique but like I said.. I'm new at this. The problem I'm trying to correct is this: I can shoot an old feather fletched arrow perfectly, as in it flies straight with no visible wobble. When i try to shoot a vaned arrow there's a good deal of wobble and power loss. Here's my setup:

Darton 58" 44# recurve bow, dacron 14 strand 58"AMO string, twisted to a brace height of 7.5"
Hoyt Super Rest
30.5" gold tip 400 spine vaned carbon arrows with 100 grain field tips. (based this on the gold tip recurve spine chart)

During paper tuning my new arrows were uncorrectable, the points were hitting about 1.75" to the left of the fletching. The original feathered arrows shot true through the paper.

So the vanes are hitting the arrow rest? But my understanding is that the super rest should work fine with vaned arrows?

I was able to try a small pile of old-as-dirt aluminum arrows. They all had much softer vanes than my new carbon arrows and they shot straighter. Not as good as the feathered arrows though. Also during that test two of the old arrows lost a vane before impacting the target. I have no idea what the spine was on any of them but the weight and diameter varied, and they ALL shot much much better than my carbon arrows.

So what am I misunderstanding here? A seasoned bowhunter has watched me and not found any glaring issue with technique. I tried using a spacer under the super rest to no effect. It's got to be the arrows, but then how are other people shooting vanes with this rest?

~Sorry for the long post, thanks for reading!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2