Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to this sport. Picked up my first bow a few weeks ago - a Diamond Razor Edge. This was also the first time I have ever shot a compound bow. I think I could really get into this and my accuracy (for a beginner) was not too bad. I set up a little shooting area in my basement with "The Block" target and have been shooting about 10-15 arrows every evening.

I need some advice on improving my bow as I continue to practice and get ready for Fall hunting season. When I was at the shop buying my bow, I had the salesmen add a few improvements. They changed out the peep sight it came with to a 5MM Radical and added a Limbsaver S-Coil Stabilizer. I bought a Scott Sabertooth release and a half-dozen Gold Tip arrows with 100-gr field tips. I relied totally on the advice of the salesmen for these purchases, so I hope I made good decisions. Both seemed like they knew what they were talking about.

They also suggested at some point I change out the cheap plastic sight the bow came with to a better version. I would like to do this now rather than later so I can get used to the new sight as I practice. They suggested a Montana Black Flashpoint, but it seems like there are several models to pick from. Is Montana Black a good brand? What model would you suggest I buy? Should I consider a different sight?

What about the arrow rest? It comes with one, but should I change this out to something a little better or is this really a non-essential piece of equipment?

Next, arrows. Is Goldtip a good choice? What arrow would YOU recommend? The salesman suggested 2" vanes over 4", but said there were good arguments for both. The Goldtips I bought had 2" vanes. I would like to hear some opinions on this. Also, how many arrows should I have on hand to practice with and get ready for hunting?