Archery Talk Forum banner

New to archery talk, sort of disabled archer

1413 15
Hi I'm new to archery talk and only been shooting seriously about 6 months or so. I shot when I was a kid but then got into speed skating. I have since found out I have Crohn's disease and had to have spine surgery about 4 years ago due to all the training and competition while I didn't know I was sick. So now I'm back to recurve archery! and I love it! I'm still a belly dancer and fire performer and am a paralegal during the day to support my archery habit.

I got my own bow in September, PSE X-factor riser 25", 26# Challenger carbon limbs, 28" draw length so about 28# pull. Cartel plunger and clicker, beiter stabilizer. still working out what everything means in terms of equipment, but I received a present of Carbon Express Nano-XR arrows, and yes, I did cry my eyes out.

I'm working on getting to 30# of pull, but my shoulder hurts from the arthritis that the Crohn's gives me if I over do it too much. Is there anyone out there who has to deal with pain issues secondary to a condition that affects how you shoot? How do you deal with it? My low back is usually a problem and the digestive issues aren't fun when I get stressed, especially around competition time. I want to go all the way and maybe be a Paralympian, and was hoping for some guidance from someone who's already been there or maybe working on the same thing now.

Well, any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Lindsey Carmichael

Hey, as far as handling pain while shooting, I would suggest reading up on Lindsey Carmichael. (http://www.lindseycarmichael.com/ and http://usparalympics.org/athlete/athlete/1949) She won us a bronze medal in these past paralympic games. Her dad has posted on archerytalk a few times so hopefully he will stop by to maybe answer some of your questions.

hope that helps
: )

Registered

Registered