Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

First of all, thanks for all the great info so far.

I just received two Hoyt Ultra Elite bows today after about 4 weeks of waiting (29" draw with 60-70# pull on both). I am new to archery and bought one for my son and I, who have never even shot compound bows before. I am not sure where to start with the sites and other accessories. I think we will mainly be shooting targets outdoors.

What type of arrows and accessories would you use?

Thanks,
Eric

·
(aka lug nut)
48,345 Posts
esparky2000 said:
Hello all,

First of all, thanks for all the great info so far.

I just received two Hoyt Ultra Elite bows today after about 4 weeks of waiting (29" draw with 60-70# pull on both). I am new to archery and bought one for my son and I, who have never even shot compound bows before. I am not sure where to start with the sites and other accessories. I think we will mainly be shooting targets outdoors.

What type of arrows and accessories would you use?

Thanks,
Eric
Hello Eric:

Welcome to Archery Talk.

The accessories will depend on the type of shooting you plan to do.

Since you plan to shoot targets outdoors,
you have two choices for a target sight.

Once choice is a pin sight.
The pin sight is used in the bow hunter class,
and you are limited to a maximum front stabilizer of 12-inches in length,
and no magnification on the sight, and no rear stabilizers, if you choose to enter a tournament some day in the future.

The other choice is a sliding target sight with a scope (magnifying lens).
A sliding target sight puts you in the freestyle class and you can use any length of front stabilizer, and rear stabilizers (side rods).

You have several choices for an arrow rest.
You can look in the drop away arrow rests. A drop away arrow rest gives you maximum fletching clearance.