Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody,

I'm very new to archery and even newer to this board. I recently bought a Parker Stealth for what I thought was a fair price, I have a few questions so the guy who sold me the bow told me this would be a good place to come and learn.

My brother who lives in Tucson is an avid PSE shooter, he gave me his old Robin Hood bow which was his first bow. Since I got the Parker I gave the Robin Hood to a friend of mine who has also never shot a bow before.

My first question has to do with draw length, I'm at 30 inches, on the Robin Hood I put an ultra knock on when I brother bought me a release for my b-day. It's a Cobra Caliber release, some have told me I might not want to use the ultra knock because of what it does to my draw length it might be better to put the release right on the bow string but others have told me that you want as little on the bow string as possible because the more thats on the bow string the more there is to mess with the accuracy of the shot. I guess it also adds consistency if you don't put the release on the string and the string will eventually get worn out putting the release right on the bow string. Oters have told me that a release loop is the way to go cause it doesn't have the impact on the feet/pr sec that the loop does but I also heard they stretch and eventually get worn out? With all this conflicting info I'm not sure which is right, any thoughts?