Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been shooting compounds for about 5 years now. I'm pretty proficient and shoot a 60 pound parker. I can easily shoot 70 pounds but dialed it back a little because I don't wanna beat up my shoulder for a few fps.

I just ordered a Samick Sage in 50 pound draw weight with beaver silencers, new fast flight string, bear rest for off the shelf shooting etc. I'm a pretty beefy guy so I don't think 50 will be an issue, I lift and do triathlon etc.

So I use Cabela's Carbon Hunter 55/70 arrows in my bow and they work very well for me with a 125 grain tip. I've been saving up the arrows where the fletching tears off so I've got about a half dozen of these carbon arrows sitting about. I was going to buy a whole new set specifically for the recurve but had second thoughts about doing that yet.

What I figured would be the more savvy thing to do was to get my carbon arrows fletched with feathers so as not to tear up the rest with vanes, then shoot them for a little bit, develop my form and figure out exactly what length I need the arrows to be with this new style of bow and more accurately figure out what spine, head weight I would need.

Does this sound like good reasoning? I'm pretty much self taught on the subject of archery so this forum has been helping me a lot with such things as I progress.

·
Registered
10,858 Posts
They will be much too stiff unfortunately.

Depending on your draw length you may need either a .500 or .400 spine arrow. Also you may find once you start shooting it that you would have preferred a set of lighter limbs, fortunately they are cheap.

-Grant

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They will be much too stiff unfortunately.

Depending on your draw length you may need either a .500 or .400 spine arrow. Also you may find once you start shooting it that you would have preferred a set of lighter limbs, fortunately they are cheap.

-Grant