Archery Talk Forum banner

Newbie Looking for Advice

422 Views 6 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  tldga3
Hi all.

I'm sure that this won't be the first time that a request like this gets posted but I need some advice from you experienced shooters out there. I am a newbie to modern compound bow archery. I'm a rifle shooter and used to shoot non-compound bows years ago but I've been out of it for ages and want to get back into it. I'm trying to figure out what to get in terms of a bow. I don't really have a budget limit, so if it turns out that the Hoyt Katera or the BowTech General is the best choice for me I'm good with that. I'd like to make this choice properly from day one. My problems however are the following. I'm 5' 6" and my DL is 26.5". I'm a reasonably strong guy so I can probably draw 70 lbs or maybe higher. I am much more concerned about the noise level and accuracy of the bow than about speed. (The deer won't care whether my broadhead hit it at 250 fps or 255). My biggest problem is the fact that I do not have any pro shops anywhere around me. The closest one is 9 hours driving away. So my options to test bows are virtually non-existent. Hence my request for help. Knowing my DL and draw weight capacity, and considering that noise and accuracy are the far greater concerns than speed, what bow would you folks suggest for me to get? I don't really know the market enough to be biased towards one brand name vs another, although aesthetics will certainly come into play at some point (I think the X-Force is ugly as hell for example...I know, I know, I've just offended all the X-Force shooters out there...:tongue:). I need a bow that works really well at a DL of only 26.5". What do you all think?

Thanks.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Smoke check!
665 Posts