Archery Talk Forum banner

Newbie Needing Advice

626 Views 4 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  Dave T
I have several questions-- I am new to archery (8 months with compound) and am interested in traditional-- why I can't exactly say, just the challenge I guess. I currently hunt with my compound set up, and ultimately would like to do the same with traditional-- what would be easier/less frustrating to learn with-- a longbow or recurve? What poundage? I am 5'11" 190 lbs, lift weights regularly, very fit. I am looking to spend no more than about 400 for EVERYTHING-- bow, arrows, quiver, tips, armguard, etc. I saw some lower priced bows on hunter's friend.com made by bear and martin, but again, this is all new to me-- I realize this is a broad question but any help getting me headed in the right direction would be appreciated...
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
2,272 Posts
startin out, get a bow off ebay or the pawn shops. Start with about 30-35lbs, over 60 inches long. For now just get what catches your eye. After you've been shootin awhile you'll get a feal for what you want or like.....and it will change over the course of time. Once you have learned proper form, you can get a heavier weight hunting bow.

Most make the mistake of going straight to a hunting wgt bow, then waste months chasing bad form and habits, then wind up giving up or going out and getting a lightwgt bow and having to retrain themselves.

Do it right the first time, you'll be glad you did ;)

· Registered
22,135 Posts
Tony -

How about checking the other "trad" newbie posts, they read almost exactly the same as yours and come up often. The information hasn't changed and you aren't an exception.

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=757868

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=752398

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=754144