Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shooting archery for several years and my sister has expressed interest in getting into archery. She's 16, but girls on our side of the family don't get much taller after 15-16. She's 5'3" and should have a draw length somewhere around 25". She can draw around 35lb right now. I just found work after being unemployed for several months, so my budget is really tight, but I'm desperate to get her set up. Y'all ladies have any suggestions on which bows you've enjoyed?

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

·
Registered
494 Posts
We started my wife with a bear apprentice. Very adjustable, there are alot of entry level adjustable bows that are available used in the $150ish price range to let her know if she is into it. If she wants to hunt she will want a high end bow, but her draw weight will increase as she shoots as well, so get her shooting and learing on something used first.

·
Registered
79 Posts
My wife is hunting for the first time with a bow this year. We bought her a golden eagle off of craigslist for $80, ready to shoot and including 6 carbon arrows in good shape. It’s easily adjusted and has been a great bow so far.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
9,763 Posts
Find her a used PSE Chaos, great starter bow and inexpensive. The "one size fits all" and slower and have a spongy back wall. My wife started with one and was killing the 12 rings on the 3D course. find her some 600 spine GT velocity arrows (get the cheap ones and cut an equal amount off of both ends)

·
Registered
2,994 Posts
Find her a used PSE Chaos, great starter bow and inexpensive. The "one size fits all" and slower and have a spongy back wall. My wife started with one and was killing the 12 rings on the 3D course. find her some 600 spine GT velocity arrows (get the cheap ones and cut an equal amount off of both ends)