Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I'm new to archery and new to this forum. I've been reading lots of the threads here and you guys really seem to know what you're doing. I'm going to buy my first bow soon and I can't decide between 2 that are in my price range. I'm looking at an older (2007) but well maintained Switchback XT and a brand new Mission ballistic. Both bows get great reviews but the SBXT seems to have a cult following and is on a lot of short lists of the all time greatest bows. The ballistic also gets great reviews and has the added benefit of being brand new. The Ballistic is also about a $100 more. I'm interested to hear what folks with a lot more experience think about this dilemma. Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Southpaw
667 Posts
Have you tried either bow? When I decided to start shooting compound I went to my local shop. They are a Mathews dealer and had a Mission Riot and a Chill X in left hand. I tried both and really wanted to buy the Chill but the Mission was more my price range. I stewed for a bit and ended up with a Chill that I found here in the classifieds. The Mission was fine but for me the Chill was better.

·
Registered
2,690 Posts
I'e go with the SBXT. That's a great bow and timeless in terms of shootability. As long as it's your draw length go for it. Mathews bows are draw length specific so if isn't your draw length you would need to get the right cam for it. I'm sure you could find one for it here. But just be aware of the inconvenience.

·
Anti Fanboy
41,832 Posts
Before you purchase either one of those bows I strongly recommend you go and shoot both, if you haven't already done so. Only you can determine which one you like best.

However, there are some other aspects that I highly recommend you adhere to.