Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I am new to the sport and have read that there are over 75 different divisions here in colorado to compete in. Age, equipment, etc. Does anyone have a list of regulations for the different types of competitions? and more specifically, what are the olympic bow regulations. Same with arrows. What is typically accepted and at what point is your arrow to large in diameter?

Thanks for your help.

SB

·
Civil but Disobedient
7,142 Posts
Here is the FITA target rule book. It defines the equipment in the Olympic classes and compound.

http://www.worldarchery.org/UserFiles/Document/FITA website/05 Rules/01 C&R Book/Book 2010/2010_Book2_NEW.pdf

This is book three for indoor archery.

http://www.worldarchery.org/UserFiles/Document/FITA website/05 Rules/01 C&R Book/Book 2010/2010_Book3_NEW.pdf

This is book 4 for field and 3D. Barebow is defined in this book. There is no official barebow designation in FITA target archery, though it is often contested.The equipment rules are taken from the field rules.

http://old.archery.org/UserFiles/Document/FITA website/05 Rules/01 C&R Book/Book_2012/EN-Book4.pdf

This is only FITA (Olympic governing body). There is also NFAA, IBO, IFAA, and many others.

·
Registered
20,337 Posts
sb -

I'm afraid it's worse than that.
Each organization (IBO, NFAA, StateFAAs, FITA, ABC, XYZ, 1x10^9, etc) has their own rules for the different classes, and some clubs follow the rules more closely than others.

Since you're new to this, the best and safest bet, would be going to the club or range where you plan to shoot, and ask them.
That way when you show up on match day, you won't get an automatic D/Q or be stuck shooting in a class you don't really belong in, due to a local technicality.

Olympic recurve is fairly straight forward.
Single string, no release devices, or levels/peep sights or lenses in the sight.