Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am pretty new to trad and have a one piece recurve for now. I travel some to hunt and want to take the recurve along. Been looking at some of the Plano jumbo rod cases to take on a plane:

JUMBO ROD CASE W/WHEELS

* Jumbo Airliner Telescoping Rod Case
* Larger diameter for more storage
* Extends to 112"
* Integrated wheels for easy transport
* Black
* 67 - 112x11.5x8.5

Anybody use these or have other suggestions? I was thinking I would lay the bow on a piece of egg crate foam, fold the foam over the bow, and then slide the whole thing into the rod tube. Any thoughts appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
38,292 Posts
Tube cases are great for longbows. Not so great for recurves, though the model you cited might work. Not sure if those are interior or exterior dimensions quoted. Looks like a bit of a monster. Not sure how much extra the airlines will charge you, though.

·
Registered
855 Posts
That looks like it would work but airline travel is exactly why I prefer T/Ds. With the extra baggage charges now days I don't even put my bows in a case. I just pack the limbs and handle in the center of my bag cushioned with clothes around them.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the feedback, a T/D is on my list for my next bow. I fly a lot for work and I am exempt from additional bag charges due to Frequent Flier status, also most airlines give exemptions on oversized bag rules for things like golf clubs and archery gear?

·
Registered
38,292 Posts
Thanks for the feedback, a T/D is on my list for my next bow. I fly a lot for work and I am exempt from additional bag charges due to Frequent Flier status, also most airlines give exemptions on oversized bag rules for things like golf clubs and archery gear?