Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - I have shoot target (field) archery with a traditional recurve & a compound (Bowtech Insanity CPXL).

I've always loved the Oneida Kestrel & am seriously pondering one. My main issues are......

- it needs constant adjustment
- it's considerably overpriced (being UK based add 30% customs charge!)

What do people think?

·
Registered
3,124 Posts
I have been shooting Oneida's for over 25 years. Does not need constant adjustment. Set it up like any other bow, and as long as nothing gets banged around or bumped it's fine just like any other bow. Cables do need to be changed periodically depending on how much you shoot. As far as the Kestrel being overpriced, I think there are a lot of over priced bows out there. The problem with Oneida is that it is a niche bow, they don't sell nearly as many bows as other companies so I think they have to make up the difference. You can find them used for a decent price, compared to new, lol. The nice thing about Oneida's you will be able to get any parts you need for years to come. Dave

·
Registered
3,124 Posts
Keep your eye on here and eBay. One just sold on here for around 900. Not cheap but not 1400 either. They also seem to hold there value more than other bows. At least, lately. I'm always on the lookout for used Oneida's. If I see a Kestrel, I'll pm you. Dave

·
Registered
492 Posts
one of my friends a few years ago had a Oneida extreme and he shot tournaments and a lot of 3d and the bows durability was a issue for him. maybe it was the bow maybe not but he couldn't continue on with that design doing the volume of shooting he was. I say look for ebay deals as getting a new Oneida is a serious expense for old style technology that can be had from a older model at a fraction of the price of new.

·
Registered
793 Posts