Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6,326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having read a post tonite about someone wanting to start a pro shop I too thought I would start a post. My dream as always been to open a small sporting goods store. Selling archery and bowhunting supplies with some fishing supplies and live bait. But is seems that in Kansas and Missouri many of the pro shops only survive a few years. I guess my question is can someone make any type of living in the business? What type of money would it take to get started?

I am currently a school teacher that would love to do something along the lines of an Archery Shop. Any ideas is appreciated.

·
Registered
5,912 Posts
You know, I've often thought about that too. It would be a nice second career. The thing is, I have a real passion for archery and I think that if it became a job rather than a hobby, eventually the fun would slowly slip away and it would become somewhat painstaking to supprt and supply archery but not partake as much as I would like to.

Now don't take that the wrong way - I'm not trying to dissuade you from what you want to do; I'm simply offering something to think about.

·
Registered
5,700 Posts
i know pse has a school for people interested in starting up a shop with the in's and out's of running an archery business. i am not sure about any other schools but i know there are a lot of knowledgeable people who can let you know if there are other schools. and it will take some cash but maybe a smalll ouot of home business might work to cut your overhead and working out of your house or garage you just need to make it accessable to patrons or like a friend of mine did he had a small building in his back yard and set up a shop with what was needed from saws to racks and worked out of his house for years. just a thought
rob k

·
Registered
456 Posts