Archery Talk Forum banner

Opinions Please

401 8
For the last year, I have been shooting well enough to compete in the state tourneys, with some chance of placing. For some reason, the last month, my shooting has fallen apart, and I am shooting some of the worst scores I have ever recorded. No one can tell me why, or what I am doing wrong.

My question is this... Since I am not confident that I will shoot that well at the state shoot this weekend, I am wondering if I should even bother going and spending the money...
This would be my first ever state shoot.

Opinions?

Thanks
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
324 Posts
go if not to expensive, i started competing this year and if you intend to compete you must also factor in the pressure of these competitions. i am by no means an expert on this but have found that it is different than practice. just my 2 cents

· Registered
2,319 Posts
There is only one wat to overcome your slip in confidence, that is to face it and over come. You obviously have the ability. Maybe have someone watch you and give you a pointer. Even if it is not any real help it might help with the way you think. Kinda like on Tin Cup when he gets the shanks and his caddie tells him to put his change in his other pocket. Hope it helps.

· Resident Philosopher
11,705 Posts
with or without confidence ....the experience of shooting on a big line is priceless...adds a whole new set of pressures the first time you do it.
even if you shoot badly you will know what to expect when you are shooting well !!

· Registered
1,836 Posts
I can tell you what your issue is.
You, like myself try too hard. Quit trying to be too careful and just shoot the shot.

· Registered
51 Posts
Go