Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok. i have heard that osage orange bows are the best and toughest bows out there. are they slower or faster than other bows? what is your input on this. just something i was wondering about. once again, put your input.

·
Registered
378 Posts
like to know myself

like to know my self there is a guy close to my home selling two osage orange bow staffs he didn't finish for $50 each or $80 for both is it a good buy?

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i have no clue man. im guessing that it is a good buy as long as you know how to finish them. sorry but i dont know. i started this thread because im just getting into traditional archery and wanted to know the difference. sorry i cant help you on that one.

·
Registered
750 Posts
Osage...to me....is one of the better bow woods that there is....I have a bamboo backed osage that i bought and it is a great shooter.....If I had access to osage where I live...that's what i would be building all my bow's out of.....but to buy Osage staves can be a little pricy.....so i stick to good ole Hickory and Red Oak......Steve

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
sweet. we live in kansas so theres PLENTY of osage around here. just would need to find a good piece and learn how to make a bow.

·
Registered
750 Posts
crispy...PM sent to you also...Steve

·
Registered
144 Posts
if you are referring to selfbows (bows made of wood, no glass), then DESIGN is the key.

Match the right design to the species of wood and tiller it well, the rest will follow.

"What is the best wood?" is often asked when one is making their first bow, but that question is the wrong focus. The questions we should ask are (in order):

• 1. What are the best woods for the relative humidity of my climate?
  • 2. What are the best designs for those woods?

More thoughts of mine on that:http://analogperiphery.blogspot.com/2007/02/selfbows-and-bowyery_23.html