Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, gals,

I know some of you have written about having pain in the elbow or shoulder. Well, I just wanted to know what you did about it...other than laying off shooting for several weeks. I know there were some graphics on proper form and the hand, but I can't find them now. I was wondering if you could direct me to the correct area for them. I just added a 7"stabilizer to my bow and hope this will help my elbow. I'm new to archery and my bow is set to 72 pounds. It's a High Country SSR and I really like it. It's pretty fast and accurate for me. I just want to be able to hunt with it and bag a few deer...that's all I'm asking for. As of now, I'm pulling back and keeping my left hand open when I release the arrow...my elbow is locked. I also had a limb saver placed on my Muzzy Zero Effect arrow rest to take some of the shock out of the bow. Suposedly, the carbon risers are made to decrease vibration, but I guess you can't take all of the vibration out of the bow. I'll post a photo of my bow if anyone is interested.

Govtman

·
Registered
5,908 Posts
You might want to back the weight down a bit until you get used to shooting and build up the archery muscles. Me personally I don't anything above 58lbs. There's just no need for it.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I may do that if my elbow doesn't get better. Do you think it has something to do with the vibration though as in tennis? Or, do you think it's the pull-push thingy?

·
Registered
144 Posts
If it is your bow elbow that hurts, than yes, vibration can cause that. There can be ways to tame the vibs. Make shure you are shooting at least a 360 grain arrow It would be better if it were around 400 or back down the poundage, It will have the same effect.

make shure it is tuned and timed, a tuned bow is always smoother and quieter.