Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought my first bow. Bear Encounter. I am brand new to archery so I don't really know how to do anything myself. The place i bought the bow from say they don't ever paper tune thier own bows. I am curious should I take it somewhere to have it paper tuned? What should I expect to pay to have it done? I live in Utah near Provo if region makes a difference. Also is it something I should have done?

Thanks for all the help in advance.

·
'13 KTM 450 SX FE
2,267 Posts
It is something you can do yourself. You want to set a paper that you can get square to and shoot your arrow thru it at about 2-3 yards. You will want the paper some what tight and needs to be away from your target so the arrow has a clean pass thru. Depending on how the hole is tearing you will need to adjust your rest accordingly. If you have a right tear, in most cases you will need to move your rest to the left. If you have a high tear then you would lower the rest. What I mean by a tear is you can see where the point goes thru the paper and where the fletchings / vanes go thru. What you want is a perfect bullet hole with the 3 fletchings and a perfect circle in the middle. It is essential that you do not torque the bow and that the release is clean. I have also run into arrows that are not perfectly balanced and they can also give you some irratic tears, point being you might want to use 2-3 arrows initially and possibly eliminate the 'flyer'.

·
Banned
8 Posts
If you torque the bow grip while shooting everything Xmxer stated will be for not. Try using a wrist sling that attaches to your front stabilizer hole, and use it, letting the back part of the grip settle in your palm. With fingers open, as to not impart any torque on bow grip.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts