Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to archery but I got a Parker lightning for Christmas I love the bow. It shoots great but I had to have my peep sight tied back in and since I've had it tied back in, my bow seems to be loud and I had the guy at the Bow Shop tie it back in. I absolutely love this bow it shoots great other than just being a little loud is this normal or do I need to take it back and have him check it

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
I don't see how having a peep retied can make your bow louder. Unless he somehow got the bow out of tune when he did it.
There are also several products you can use to dampen noise. Limb dampeners from bojax or limbsaver works well. Also string dampeners like monkey tails. Those products can really work to tame noise. I use speed nocks instead of monkey tails because when placed properly on the string, they will add speed as well as take care of string noise. Check your string stop as well and make sure it didn't come loose.

Sent from my LG-TP450 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
I have a Parker Hornet 2 Plus that was super loud! You can see from the picture I used Brownell TPU speed nocks and Limbsaver dampeners for solid limbs. Your bow has split limbs so you can't use them.

One my target bow, I already had speed nocks installed from the factory. But added Bojax split limb dampens.

Sent from my LG-TP450 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I added limb dampeners and string dampeners and I checked the string stop. The only reason I noticed it was my daughter has the same bow and we were shooting side by side and hers is a lot more quiet

·
September is go time!!
1,007 Posts
I added limb dampeners and string dampeners and I checked the string stop. The only reason I noticed it was my daughter has the same bow and we were shooting side by side and hers is a lot more quiet