Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I passed my proficiency test last night!! Woo hoo!!!!! Being new to archery and bowhunting (only started shooting this past spring), this is a big thing for me! So I figured I'd share w/ everyone on AT. In AK, you have to pass the proficiency test (classroom time, written test and 3-D shooting test) to hunt legally in some areas, and to draw permits for other areas. Well, I drew an archery-only moose permit a couple months ago so have been practicing like CRAZY to get ready for the test to be able to actually use my permit next month.

Not to toot my own horn or anything, (well, OK, I'm tootin') passed the written test w/ 100%, and made 8 out of 8 kill shots on the course last night!

I've learned so much on this website since I started shooting - so thanks everyone here, and even more thanks to my hubby for teaching me everything I know about archery, and for really making me practice and do my best!!

I was so proud to get my certification last night - had to take a pic when I got home to memorialize the evening!!!!

Attachments

·
Banned
10,353 Posts
CONGRATS!!!!! Now post some success photos this fall :thumbs_up

·
Registered
2,201 Posts
Great job, 8 of 8 with the pressure of an instructor watching, now that's impressive. It's good to see another woman bowhunting, my wife says there is not enough to relate with. Good luck on the moose hunt. Make sure you post some success pics.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Congratulations! Good luck this fall!

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks, guys! Keeping my fingers crossed that things will work out well and I'll have some pictures of a dead moose to share with everyone!