Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm getting into the hobby cold and see a tremendous range in cost on arrow shafts and broadheads. I'm an aerospace engineer so I have a good understanding on materials yet I can't seem to separate what's a good value vs performance. I'm new to the hobby but don't want something cheap that I'll be upgrading from in a year.

What's the right intermediate grade arrow and broadhead combo for hunting deer?

·
Registered
104 Posts
The most expensive stuff is nice to say you have…maybe. Grab some Gold Tip XT Hunters. Broadheads you will get a million opinions so take them with a grain of salt. I’m kinda a broadhead junkie so I’ve tried tons of different heads and mostly on animals. I live in the south so we have liberal bag limits on deer and unlimited pigs. Me personally stick with a 3 blade. I’ve tried premium single bevels blah blah blah, i want that triangle cut. Get some stropping compound and a strop and learn to sharpen, even heads right out of the pack stand to have plenty of room for improvement.

·
Registered
5,799 Posts
I'm getting into the hobby cold and see a tremendous range in cost on arrow shafts and broadheads. I'm an aerospace engineer so I have a good understanding on materials yet I can't seem to separate what's a good value vs performance. I'm new to the hobby but don't want something cheap that I'll be upgrading from in a year.

What are your bow specs? People will give you lots of recommendations, if they know your DL, DW, IBO speed etc. Arrow choice is mostly personal preferences though. There are plenty of great arrow/broadhead combinations.

·
Registered
114 Posts