Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:cry: This will be my second deer ever with a bow...and its been almost 4 years since my first one. I've been hunting with bow and arrow only for the last 2 years...and finally things are starting to connect...until this morning.

Here's the situation... I had two spikes come right under mu stand and feed around the area for about 10 minutes or so. One of the spikes was reddish color...and the other was gray and had tall spikes. So I figured he was an older deer being big bodied and gray he seemed to be a cull candidate.
After deciding to harvest him I waited for him to offer the right angle. He decided to turn back to me and feed back down the trail...I drew when he got behind a tree and followed him about 10 yards waiting for the moment of truth around an oaktree...here's what happens. The deer was 12 yards from the tree and I was 20 foot up the tree...but he was down in a slope so the elevation on the deer was about 36 feet...with the elevation and the quartering away shot I thought I could put the arrow behind his left shoulder up high..and let the arrow drive down and punch his heart...however..the arrow hits its mark and passed straight throw the deer making help flip forwar on his back..he bounced right up and hooked backaround showing me his exit wound at which was covered in blood....however the exit was just behind the shoulder on the 12 mark... When the arrow hit it did something funny I noticed the fletching turn forward like it glanced off a bone and turned inside of the deer..which explains the exit wound being behind the opposite shoulder and behind it instead of below and in front.
after 45 minutes I got down walked over to the arrow..at which is just laying on the ground...and not a spec of blood on it. all three blades were expanded with hair wedged around the pivots...and there was some tissue and hair on the fletching...but no blood!!!!