Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I AM NEW TO THIS SO PLEASE BEAR WITH ME. I HAVE BEEN PRACTICING ALL SUMMER FOR THE UPCOMING BOW SEASON. I HAVE GOTTEN TO BE A RATHER DECENT SHOT. WHEN I SWITHCHED TO BROADHEADS, I FOUND MY ARROWS WERE LANDING ABOUT 6-8 INCHES LOWER THAN WITH FIELD TIPS. I AM USING 100 GRAIN FIELD TIPS AND 100 GRAIN BROADHEADS. I HAVE TRIED THUNDERHEADS AND MAGNUS, BOTH PRINTING ABOUT 6 INCHES LOWER THAN THE FIELD POINTS. I ADJUSTED THE SIGHTS AND NOW HAVE PROPER VERTICAL PLACEMENT BUT THE MAGNUS FIXED BLADES SEEM TO PRINT CONSISTENTLY 4 INCHES TO THE LEFT OF POA. IS IT COMMON FOR THE POI TO CHN
ANGE FOR FIELD POINTS AND DIFFERENT BRANDS OF BROADHEADS??? I FOUND OUT THE "BAG" TARGET WOULDN'T TOLERATE THE BROADHEAD USE, REPLACED MY TARGET WITH THE LAYED FOAM STYLE TODAY. SEEM TO "CATCH" THE ARROWS WELL BUT I FIND THEM DIFFICULT TO WITHDRAW FROM THE FOAM. THE FRICTION REALLY MUST WORK!! THANKS FOR ANY IDEAS IN ADVANCE.

·
Registered
19,164 Posts
First turn your cap key off... no need to shout...

Now you have three choices:

1. shoot mech's (can't believe I said that:D )

2. Tune your bow...

3. Adjust your sights...

My personal choice tune the bow, everything will work and feel better if the bow is properly tuned.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'd really recommend you hit 5shot's site, or get the easton tuning guide off thier site.

http://www.eastonarchery.com/news/tuningGuide/complete_tuning_guide.pdf

I also started with archery this year, and found similar problems. Although I thought my bow was tuned in well, when I started broadhead practice this fall, I found I was dead wrong. I also found that one set of broadheads that may work well in my bow, may not work well with your setup. I'm shooting UltimateSteel 125Gr fixed broadheads as these I found shoot VERY well out of my bow, while another set shot very lousy out of my bow.