Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always been a bit big fan of knives and am amazed at some of the work I see some of the members on here do when it comes to knives. So I figure rather than constantly ogling over the knives that I see I might as well try to give it a shot.

I'm coming into this as a complete and total noob. A blank canvas or block of steel if you will :D. I need molding, shaping, and direction I have no idea where to start. Nor do I know how much room, tools, etc I may need if I want to get started trying this.

So I'm open to anyone and everyone willing to take the time to help. As of right now what I'm wondering is: Since I've never done this before am I better off trying my hand at this with something like a kit, or should I consider another route? While I hopefully aspire to be able to be a good knife maker and taking a piece of steel and transforming it into a razor sharp work of art I just don't know what direction to take that first step on that journey.

I'll say thanks in advance to anyone and everyone willing to help and also for the patience should I start firing off a brazillion questions about this :cheers:

·
Registered
361 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts

·
Registered
7,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So you guys are saying bypass the kit idea and hop right into making one out of a block of steel?

·
Registered
607 Posts
kits are not custom

if you buy a kit..your just assembling a knife, not making a knife.

·
Registered
696 Posts

·
Registered
7,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I'll look into that Squawsach I checked out your link and it's awesome. I have no idea at the moment how to even build any kind of forge or where to even get started going it from where I'm at. The idea of buying some blanks seems like a viable option at some point.