Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have most of you found it common that you have to have your pop up blind in place 2 or 3 days before you see any deer around it. I have used a ground blind 3 times now and it seems that I have to have it set up for several days before the deer will even come around it. I have tryed puting is behind brush piles and bushes and it still takes about 3 days. Is this common I am new to hunting in a pop up blind. :sad:

·
Registered
788 Posts
Not really, set up the blind with a buddy one time and within an hour had a big bear come to 40 yards clueless....set it up at about 2:00 in the afternoon a couple weeks ago and killed a deer out of it at 4:30....just gotta try not to be too intrusive, plan out what you're gonna do before you get out there.

·
Registered
5,105 Posts
Our deer spot pop-ups with no problem. Don't care how you brush them in. Of course our deer are some of the most pressured in the nation. I mainly hunt public land, so you could leave your pop-up out here for 3 hours, let alone 3 days without it being stolen.

I am hunting on the ground more and more every year, but I am using natural cover and an ASAT 3D suit. Great fun.

Pop-ups work awesome for turkeys though.
Dan

·
Registered
7,790 Posts
I've heard that before. Think about it--if you lived in the woods and one day a blob appeared where one wasn't before wouldn't you be suspicious? I don't think deer have the same thought processes us humans, but they are more in tune with their environment than we are. May take awhile for them to get comfortable being around something they haven't seen before.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
This bring up another question, how long do you leave up a pop blind? Days? I hunt private property and leave it up 3 days at a time.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts