Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was shooting tonight and a guy at the range mentioned this. It sounded like BS - but I am new to archery so I thought I would ask.

Based on Identical Bows
a 70#(limbs) bow is backed down 60# is less effective than a #60(limbs)bow set at 60#

His thought is a bow should always be shot at the max of the limbs.

Isn't 60#s - 60#s?

· Bowhemian
8,311 Posts
Some say it is, some say it isn't.

I would ask Nuts & Bolts' opinion.

· Registered
3,350 Posts
here is a scenario.

Take a Conventional limb bow.
look at a 70# bow backed down to say 60#.
And look at a 70# at 70#.
You will notice that the cams are oriented a little different on the back out bow.
Also the brace height has changed as well causing a lose of speed and energy transfer.
Now look at the 60# bow maxed in weight. The brace Height will be shorter thus transferring every drop of energy allowed by its initial design.

Now do the same with a parallel limb bow.
You will not see much difference between the two.

All of the manufactures rate and test these bows for peak efficiency at peak weight so the bows are intended to perform their best at peak draw weight.

On parallel limb bows you are not going to see much difference in a 70 at 60 vs. a 60 at 60 but the 60 peaked may out perform the 70 at 60 slightly.

At the end of the day does it really matter as long as you enjoy shooting you bow?

· Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
here is a scenario.

Take a Conventional limb bow.
look at a 70# bow backed down to say 60#.
And look at a 70# at 70#.
You will notice that the cams are oriented a little different on the back out bow.
Also the brace height has changed as well causing a lose of speed and energy transfer.
Now look at the 60# bow maxed in weight. The brace Height will be shorter thus transferring every drop of energy allowed by its initial design.

Now do the same with a parallel limb bow.