Archery Talk Forum banner

practicing from a stand?

380 6
I've been shooting good groups out to 30yrds when shooting on level ground. Then I started practicing from my deck(13ft off the ground) at 15-25 yrds and getting good groups. Then tonight I imagined a deer coming in on my right at about nearly a 45degree angle and not aligning my feet to the target. I really struggled with this shot. Is this something you don't do with a longbow? My shots tend to be to the left, i guess it's just hard to hold the torqe you putting on your core as you twist to your right. I'm sure if you practice it enough you can get it down. I've got 3 more weeks to get it right. I guess I'm just thinking about what would happen if you did'nt want to move you feet in your stand because it would be to much movement. Once again is this just not a shot to take? thanks
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
7,049 Posts
It's a tough shot but if you practice for those odd angle shots you'll get the hang of it.. You shot left because your whole body torqued to the left at release. It's a good idea to try and be ready for anything you'll put tags on more animals that way.. Randy

· Registered
527 Posts
My buddies and I play "H-O-R-S-E" when we shoot. We take turns picking odd angle shots and if the originator hits his mark then the other shooters have to do it as well, and if you don't you get a letter, the first one to spell horse is out. At first I thought this was weird but fun and now I think it has helped me in those "odd" sitiations but I guess the real test will come next week in the deer woods!

· Registered
22,129 Posts
sd -

The reason you're having trouble with the shot is because you haven't learned how to maintain shoulder geometry while working the angles. Any up/down or left/right variation happens at the waist (or legs), and not the arms or shoulders. Regardless of the position you have to get into the shoulder alignment remains the same, if it can't, then it's not a good shot.