Archery Talk Forum banner

proper aiming with a recurve!!

3864 43
bought a recurve this past friday, this is my first time shooting one and im having trouble staying consistant... i feel as im excuting the shot with the same technique but with different results each time my fingers release, ive tried aiming with the arrow while shootin during the draw back, and aiming with the arrow before then drawing back hitting my anchor and releasing. but im lost!!! its a pse hertiage series kudu @ 28" @ 50lbs

any info would be appreciated
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

· Registered
22,128 Posts
Rr -

There is no "correct way" to aim a stickbow, but there are a number of options.

If you're just getting started, stay close enough to the target to ALLOW your brain to take over. It will in short order.

I'm willing to bet that 99/100 times when a new guys talks about "aiming", aiming is actually the last thing he needs to worry about.

...then drawing back hitting my anchor and releasing
That ain't gonna work, you're going to need a little more than a touch and go anchor. You're effectively shooting in will in motion. Works great in the movies, not so great in real life. Just something to think about.

BTW - bet you're over-bowed for any kind of real shooting.

Viper1 out.

· Registered
38,292 Posts
I really don't aim. I stare at the target and my brain puts the bow up, draws, and releases. The arrow seems to go where I want it.
That is aiming, it just isn't conscious aiming off of a fixed marker on the bow or arrow.

· Registered
11,287 Posts
Proper Aiming - is ANY aiming techinique that gets the job done or follows a set of particular rules in competition.

Aiming techiniques that will generally have a shorter learning curve and are easier to attain and maintain consistant accuracy with are the conscious aiming techiniques such as Gap and Point of Aim.

Ray ;)

· Registered
3,188 Posts