Archery Talk Forum banner

Prusik Knot ?

2253 Views 11 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  GSLAM95
Does the rope that makes the Prusik knot need to be smaller diameter than the main line or does it matter? I made this set up last night with the same size rope (same stuff as the green stuff in the illustration on reply # 8 http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=771357 ) and the Prusik had the tendency to slip unless I messed with it a bunch and made sure it was super tight on the rope.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Bowhunter
5,278 Posts
Yes, a rope used for the prussic know should be of smaller diameter: 2-4 mm, I think.

· Registered
14,752 Posts
your prussic rope should be 2 mm smaller than the main line to work correctly.

10mm=8mm
9mm=7mm
8mm=6mm

· Registered
14 Posts
I must say that it is good to see you guys doing this….

I am a Firefighter/Paramedic in N. Texas assigned to a Technical Rescue Station. With countless hours of training and certifications meeting NFPA 1670, Rope Rescue Technician, I have a few recommendations. Hope you all don’t mind me putting in my 2 cents???