Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it ok to have a setup where the wind is coming from your back, which is where the deer whill come from, and blowing right into the shooting lane? By the time the deer are in my shooting lane I can let the arrow fly but they'll also be in my wind for the first time.

Basically I would be hunting on the north side of the woods with a sound wind and I'd expect the deer to come from behind me.

·
Registered
844 Posts
Just something to think about.......say a buck is trailing a doe and he is ten or fifteen yards behind. Is she going to wind u or do u... I don't think the setup is bad unless a non target deermakes it downwind first. But then again I am no expert either....

·
Registered
3,693 Posts
Every deer you opt not to shoot will wind you and alert the big boy that may be coming.........

·
Registered
844 Posts
Then again in the early phase of the rut a buck is still seeking out a doe..... if he is alone he would be done, if not then you would be done. I would get the set as high as possible and hope ur scent blows over long enough to get the trailing deer.

·
Registered
7,235 Posts
It's usually the deer you don't see that you have to worry about. But, I'm always aware of what the wind is doing, and hunt accordingly.

·
Registered
2,945 Posts
why not move the stand down wind another 30 yards or so and flip your stand to the opposite side of the tree?

·
Registered
4,240 Posts