Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I was lucky enough to punch a doe tag on public land in NH this weekend. I’ve been using wasp jak hammers for the past 3 years but was intrigued by the new trypan NC broadness enough to give it a try.
Results were less than stellar and not what I was expecting.
I had a perfect broadside 21 yard shot and could not have placed my arrow much better.
Entry hole was probably the exact 2” but the exit was only 1 1/4” at best. The arrow passed completely through and buried into a tree root. Slightly bent blades but nothing too much to worry about.

my biggest concern was the blood trail was almost non existent. I fully believe I would have struggled to find this deer in the dark. She probably made it 100 yards from my tree.

I fully believe that third cutting edge makes a huge difference in how much blood is let out , and how far the animal makes it on the death run.

Doe meat in the freezer though , bring on October !

Hunting Deer hunting Plant Plant community Trophy hunting

Entry side
Grey Asphalt Wood Insect Road surface

exit side
Hood Fawn Headgear Motor vehicle Tints and shades

Attachments

·
Registered
445 Posts
Well I was lucky enough to punch a doe tag on public land in NH this weekend. I’ve been using wasp jak hammers for the past 3 years but was intrigued by the new trypan NC broadness enough to give it a try.
Results were less than stellar and not what I was expecting.
I had a perfect broadside 21 yard shot and could not have placed my arrow much better.
Entry hole was probably the exact 2” but the exit was only 1 1/4” at best. The arrow passed completely through and buried into a tree root. Slightly bent blades but nothing too much to worry about.

my biggest concern was the blood trail was almost non existent. I fully believe I would have struggled to find this deer in the dark. She probably made it 100 yards from my tree.