Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the world of archery (just bought a 2001 bowtech black knight 2, which i'm waiting for to come in the mail) and am hoping to start shooting and eventually get into hunting. In the meantime though, I'm going to need to do some serious practicing.

The problem is that we only have 2 ranges in town, and neither of them have any sort of membership. They only have a drop in fee, which is $7 each time, and you can shoot for as long as you want. The problem is that it will get real expensive if I want to shoot a few times a week.

Are there any alternatives? I've never shot before, so I figure I should take some lessons or something, and sight it in at the range. But after that I'm not sure what to do.

And is expecting to shoot 2-3 times a week unreasonable?

·
Time Flies
13,281 Posts
Any local Gander Mountains around? They usually offer year-long memberships for between $50 and $100...otherwise I would say make your practice productive for that price!

·
Archery Blogger/Writer
9,332 Posts
How big is your backyard and does your local laws forbid you from shooting in public or in your yard?

My son and I shoot 2-3 times a week. That's not overly bad to do.

If you're able to practice in your yard, you can snag a new field point bag for about 40 bucks and then shoot all you want whenever you want.

-Steve

·
Registered
673 Posts
$7 is pretty steep...so, like CherryJ said,make it count!
Also, have you checked for Archery Clubs in your area? They should be able to help you out with shooting advice and where to go!

·
Registered
6,089 Posts
I would try to get a target and just shoot yourself after you get it shot in, to start though you should just pay the fee because other people shooting could give you tipsand help you tune in your bow.

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
not expensive