Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last night we were out antelope hunting and when we were sneaking in the ditch, we ran into these. I stepped right over them, and then realized what they were. I started shouting to my hubby "stop snake, stop snake!!!". (luckily the antelope we a long ways away, or they would have heard me) They are all coiled together in one big heap... Maybe mating... I don't know I'm not a snake expert by any means. But, one didn't have any rattles, and one didn't feel the need to use his/hers. :eek:
Needless to say, on the entire hike, I was extremely skittish!!! :smile: On a good note, I got within 35 yards of 3 bucks, but couldn't get a shooting lane!!! It's an incredible feeling to set up and have them come in so perfect... Hopefully one day I can get it all to come together.

Attachments

·
Registered
36,982 Posts
makes you look before your next steps huh ?

·
74,535 Posts
We were on a deer count the other night

We killed a 4' western on the road.

·
Registered
19,453 Posts
Tanya,

You had nothing to be afraid of, they dont have any heads.....hehehe That adds to the excitement of the hunt :tongue:
Hang in there, you'll get your lope! :)

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Their nerves were still making them curl up so I was feeling a little spooked holding on to them, yeah I could imagine one coming around and latching on to me... :eek:
A 4' western would absolutely get my attention. These are prairie rattlers. Usually we don't see them this big, the one had 9 buttons. It seems like I am always the one to find them. I don't know if my hubby just walks over them, or if I just have really bad luck.....

·
Registered
12,018 Posts