Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
823 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, Well after recovering from a stroke in 08, and a bad rotator cuff I have started shooting again. So far it's been limited to shooting my Pinnalce II and Excel ILF recurves at 30 lbs which will probably max me out for recurve weight. I want to start back shooting a compound barebow again for 3D and hunting (maybe) but I sold or donated my compounds after the stroke cause I didn't think I'd ever shoot again. My choices will be limited to bows in the 35-50 lb. range due to the shoulder. My draw length will probably end up at 28-29 inch range. It's always been 28 in the past but I may try a different anchor point.

In the past I've shot Pro Vantages, Pearson classics, Darton Vipers, Oneidas, several PSE's over 41 inches, and several others. I am familiar with all of those but am interested in maybe trying one of the newer shorter bows. I have no experience with anything under 41 inches so I have a little concern but know a lot of guys are shooting the parrallel limb bows in the upper 30's. Can anyone tell me which bows today are smooth and don't have a hard wall. I much prefer a good valley to shoot from. I used to shoot a lot of NFAA field but doubt I'll do much of that anymore so I'm not needing a bow with that much stability, just something good out to 40-50 yd. max. BTW I intend to gap and shoot 3 under. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
Welcome back. I have picked up the compound again as well. I have a Bowtech Constitution that has G5 Quest limbs on it, which increase the brace height to 9" and my ata length is 41". However, I am putting together a few old provantages for spot bows. I also have an old Screaming Eagle that is under the bed. The older bows aren't anywhere near as fast as the Constitution, but the deflex is very desirable. I hope you find what you are looking for. What are you going to use the bow for? Are you looking for a brand new bow?

·