Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Keep Calm Have A Dram
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I wonder if you could give me some info.

What is better to hunt with recurves or compounds? I was told by my archery instructor that id start off using a recurve of 30Ibs.

·
Keep Calm Have A Dram
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi they are bolth exelent to hunt with use recurve for traditional hunting.I started with a recurve now shoot compound, thinking of going back to trad,had a feeling with compound the hunt was to easy

How do hunting sights work? I've seen them but not sure which needle to look at. I am a real novice. Huntersfriend advised me that they would tune everything for me so its field ready which i would prefer.

I think i'll stick to compound. :wink:

·
Registered
14,752 Posts
If you are gonna be proficient it will take a lot more time and practice to be successful with the recurve. I have the utmost respect for traditional hunters because it does take a TON of practice.

The compound will be quicker and easier and take less practice....but you should still practice as much as possible to keep your edge.

·
Registered
6,765 Posts
I think i'll stick to a compound then :wink:
Whatever you do, do try to learn all you can about taking care and adjusting your bow.

As for the sight...
There are 2 component needed. A sight, and a peep sight. The peep sight is put in the string. You put the front sight in the middle of your peep sight, and then place the end (usually fiber optic or a dot) of the pin on the target. Multiple pins for multiple distances. By aiming with a higher or lower pin, you are pointing the bow higher or lower, changing the impact point since an arrow flies in an arc, hence archery.

·
Keep Calm Have A Dram
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ah i see, makes sense now lol.

There is only one guy at my archery club that uses a compound :confused: