Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a finger shooter who has never used a release aid, I was wondering if a release aid would enable an archer with a 30-31" draw length shoot a bow with a maximum draw length of 28". Does this make sense?

·
Registered
2,789 Posts
I am no expert But

There is no way I know of to make up 2 to 3 inches of draw length using a release. You need to change cams and/or String and cables. i am sure that I am right about this but I am sire you will get many more opinions

·
Registered
760 Posts
What HV said. There are various rules of thumb out there, but so much of it depends on the release. All of my various releases result in different DL settings on a bow.

·
Registered
2,514 Posts
You may be able with a release and a D-loop be able to use the bow. Most archers get bows that are to long a draw. Do a search under draw length and you will find the new way to measure your own draw by holding your arms out like making a cross and measure from fingertip to finger tip and then there is a conversion table. Checkout storm archery as they have the table on there site as well.......

·
Registered
2,514 Posts
using the cross measurement from fingertip to finger tip if the measurement is:

71 inch 28 inch draw
72 28.5
73 29
74 29.5
75 30
76 30.5
77 31

I found this to be the right way to measure, for years every bow I got was 31 inch, now I am drawing 28.5 with a caliber winn type release and the bow fits just great.

·
Registered
275 Posts
I use to be a finger shooter too. I then went to a caliper. Then to a Back Tension release. I also shot a 31" draw. So, my experience may be helpful to you.
1. Use the wingspan chart, it is an excellent
method in terms of a starting point, as
a rule of thumb, but remember, it may not
be the final answer for your form.
2. I subtracted from the chart the length of
my D-loop, if you shoot one. I would
advise that you do, even with a caliper