Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been shooting my S4 with a Carter MiniEvo + for about 3 months consistently now with a total of about 1,500 without shooting a different release. The release feels great and the shot feels perfect if i execute each muscle motion correctly.

Today I received my Insatiable2 in the mail and shot the S4 with it. One thing I can say is wow. The groups, regardless of distance, became much much MUCH tighter than with the Evo.

Question: With the evo my bow arm is much more shakier than with the insatiable. Would dropping the poundage on the bow by about 3 lbs be beneficial to have a steadier shot with the evo and potentially improve the shot with the insatiable?

Shooting at 18, I noticed that if i do two practice ends with the evo I will group at the 10 ring on a vegas face where as shooting the insatiable after warming up I can group nearly all in the X using really thin arrows.

Lastly, sight settings are different with the two releases. I shot 2 groups of 4 arrows each with the two different releases and the group with the evo is consistently lower and to the left of the group with the insatiable. does that say something about my arrows or more about my release procedure/form?

For those who shoot both BT and trigger releases, do you just use your BT for training and form and the trigger for scoring rounds?

Thanks.

·
Registered
860 Posts
Yes I use my Scott Longhorn for training and shoot my Carter target master pinky for tourys. Helps me stay in control of my shots.

·
Registered
6,653 Posts
What you're experiencing isn't out of the norm on either front: holding steadier with the Insatiable and different impact points with the two releases.