Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to archery and just purchased a new 2015 PSE Stinger X. I've been doing a lot of reading here and noticed that many people replace the factory strings right away. Others recommend new archers to wait for a while. I was curious on the Pros vs Cons of replacing the strings right away.

Why would one replace new strings? Are there flaws in the factory strings? If so, what should I be looking for? What would be the benefit of different strings? What strings would you recommend for this bow?

26.5 draw length at approx. 40# (this will be going up as I build strength)

Thanks!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Anyone?

·
Registered
64 Posts
I also have a 2015 Stinger X and from what I can gather the quality of the strings from the factory isn't the best which is understandable based on the price of the bow. I have been shooting mine since December without issue. I do notice some rotation in my d loop and peep but because of the style peep it hasnt been that big a problem. I plan on shooting it for a few more months before changing the strings for the hunting season as everyone suggests. I don't think it's something you need to do right away get comfortable with the bow and inspect the string often for issues.

·
Registered
421 Posts
I also have the Stinger X and I'm also setting up and tuning my own bow. I keep the stock string and use it as a learning tool,let it take all the wear and tear while I learn what and what not to do. Your bows going to shoot fine with the stock sting and a new sting isn't going to suddenly make your bow shoot much better.What a new string should do is minimize the problem your having with a stock sting. You will have to buy a new string soon enough so use the stock one while your learning.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you!

·
Registered
5,447 Posts